Cheesy Bacon Potato Chips

cheesybaconpotatochipstitle

I can’t remember if I’ve mentioned this here or not, but up until I was about 25, I had a problem with binge eating.  The more stressed or depressed I was, the more I ate.  There’s a reason I gained 150 lbs in the first year that I was married to my ex-husband.  As soon as I realized I had a problem, I started taking steps to control it.

Now, I’ve never been a skinny girl and I have always been okay with that.  My weight has never defined me, but I didn’t want my eating habits to define me, either.  That’s not to say I never binge now but when I have that uncontrollable urge to do so, I tell myself that it’s okay!  As long as it’s just that once and I set a limit for myself.  Then that’s it.  It’s not easy to stop sometimes but I found that, for me, it’s easier to give in with limits than try to ignore that feeling and breaking into a horrible food frenzy.

cheesybaconpotatochips2

Another thing I learned in order to control the binging urge is to seek out the occasional comfort foods that are not horrible on the fat and calorie front.  Admittedly, bacon and cheese are high on that list but it doesn’t take much to feel satisfied.  Since I’m never sitting down and eating a whole package of bacon in one sitting or an entire block of cheese, I don’t feel guilty for my occasional indulgences.

Things have been a bit stressful around here lately and a couple of weekends ago, my binge urge was in high gear.  Since I had already given in to it (with yummy, yummy fast food  tacos that made my stomach hurt like a mofo but it was worth it!), I needed to find another outlet.  After trying a few of my non-food options, I decided to turn to the kitchen to find something that would work.

cheesybaconpotatochips1

I remembered seeing something in passing on Pinterest a while that looked like loaded slices of potatoes.  I couldn’t find the picture when I quickly tried to look just now but it was a pretty basic idea that I ran with.

I just used the mandolin to cut 1/4″ slices of potato which I then boiled for 4 minutes.  I rinsed them under cold water then laid them out on a greased baking sheet and seasoned them.  I broiled them for about 5 minutes, flipped and seasoned them again, and broiled them for about 5 more minutes.  After topping them with cheese and bacon, I broiled them again for a couple of minutes then stuffed them into my face.

Okay, not literally but they definitely fit the bill for comfort food that didn’t expand my waistline any more than it already is.  A single serving is under 300 calories and I was not the only one eating them. 🙂

cheesybaconpotatochips4

I think these would be amazing with a touch of sour cream and a sprinkle of green onion but I was quite happy to eat them just the way they were.

Cheesy Bacon Potato Chips
Author: Sashi @ getoffthecouchandcook.com
Prep time: 15 mins
Cook time: 12 mins
Total time: 27 mins
Serves: 4 servings
Ingredients
  • 3 med russet potatoes, cut into 1/4″ thick slices
  • 6 slices of bacon, cooked crisp then crumbled
  • 4 oz Cheddar, shredded (1 cup)
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • Nonstick cooking spray
Instructions
  1. Heat a large pot of water on high until boiling. Carefully add the potato slices and boil for 4 minutes.
  2. While the potatoes are boiling, spray a large baking sheet generously with cooking spray and set aside.
  3. Drain the potatoes and rinse under cold water until cool enough to handle.
  4. Lay in a single layer on the prepared baking sheet and sprinkle with half the salt and half the garlic powder. Broil 5″-6″ from the heat on high for about 5 minutes or until the potatoes start to brown.
  5. Remove the pan from the oven and flip the potatoes. Sprinkle with the remaining salt and garlic powder and broil 4-5 minutes or until starting to brown.
  6. Remove the pan from the oven again and sprinkle the slices with the shredded cheese followed by the bacon. Broil another 1-2 minutes or until the cheese is melted and bubbly.

 

Leave a comment